Association of Research Libraries (ARL®)

Press Releases & Announcements

First Annual Mellon Awards for Technology Collaboration Presented at CNI Fall Task Force Meeting

On December 4, 2006, at the Fall Task Force Meeting of the Coalition for Networked Information (CNI) in Washington, DC, The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation awarded $650,000 in prizes to 10 not-for- profit institutions in the first annual Mellon Awards for Technology Collaboration (MATC). The Mellon Awards honor not-for-profit organizations for leadership in the collaborative development of open source software tools with particular application to higher education and not-for-profit activities. More information on the awards ceremony, including podcast interviews with some of the recipients, will be available in December at

The awards were presented by Sir Timothy Berners-Lee, Director of the World Wide Web Consortium and the inventor of the World Wide Web. The 10 recipients were selected from among more than 200 nominees by the MATC Award Committee, which included Berners-Lee, Mitchell Baker (CEO, Mozilla Corporation), John Seely Brown (former Chief Scientist, Xerox Corp.), Vinton G. Cerf (Vice President and Chief Internet Evangelist, Google, Inc.), John Gage (Chief Researcher and Director of the Science Office, Sun Microsystems, Inc.), and Tim O’Reilly (Founder and CEO, O’Reilly Media).

The awardees, prizes, and projects for which they were recognized are as follows:

The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation is a philanthropic organization with offices in New York City and Princeton, NJ. The MATC awards are a project of the Foundation’s Program in Research in Information Technology (RIT). More information about the MATC awards, including the full content of this release, is available at

For more information, please contact:
Christopher J. Mackie
Associate Program Officer
Program in Research in Information Technology
The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation
282 Alexander Rd.
Princeton, NJ 08540